Browse through the Mississippi license lookup before embarking on a new career. Along with listing the state’s top job choices, the Mississippi license lookup also includes licensing requirements. You will learn what you need to do to get licensed in your profession of choice. Then you can work toward your new career.
Do you want to be a Mississippi insurance adjuster? Begin by completing 20 hours of pre-licensing education. You’ll take a final exam to demonstrate your knowledge, and then you’ll move onto the licensing exam. Once you pass your licensing exam, you can apply for your license via Sircon or the National Insurance Producer Registry. You can also submit a paper application to the Mississippi Department of Insurance, although the state recommends that you apply online.
The state of Mississippi does not issue general business licenses. However, state agencies do issue licenses for some companies. For instance, the Department of Health issues licenses for restaurants. Check with the state to see if your business requires a license. You should also check with the local government, as many cities and counties require licenses. Jackson is one such example. Most businesses in the city must have a license to operate. The requirements depend on the license, so reach out to local officials to learn more.
Mississippi issues commercial and residential contractor licenses. The requirements are the same for both. If you want a residential or commercial license for an LLC or corporation, it must be registered with the Secretary of State, and it has to be in good standing. Regardless of your business entity, you need a state sale tax or use tax number. The state also requires proof of general liability insurance. You need at least $600,000 aggregate and $300,000 per occurrence. Also, if you have at least five employees, you must carry workers’ compensation insurance.
Next, you need a reference letter from your bank and two letters from people you’ve worked with at some point in your construction career. You also need to have information about other jobs you’ve completed in your desired field. The qualifying party also must show proof of employment, and you need a financial statement that’s been reviewed or audited.
After you get this information, take the Law and Business Management exam and the trade exam. Then fill out the application, including all necessary documents, and submit it to the Mississippi Board of Contractors.
If you want to become a teacher in MS, begin by earning a four-year degree in education. You might be eligible for a TEACH Grant or one of the other programs that help offset the costs of earning your degree. You will then need to take the Praxis tests to demonstrate your knowledge in the subject area you wish to teach. After passing the tests, you can apply for a license through the Mississippi Department of Education.
Start the process of becoming an engineer by graduating from an ABET-accredited program with a Bachelor of Science in Engineering. If you have an equivalent degree, check with the licensing board to see if it is acceptable. You must then pass the NCEES Fundamentals of Engineering Exam. You can then apply to the Mississippi Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Surveyors to become an Engineer Intern. Get four years of experience as an intern and take the Principles and Practice of Engineering exam. Gather five character witnesses, making sure that at least three of those are professional engineers. You can then apply for your engineer license via the Mississippi Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Surveyors.
You need to take pre-licensing education courses before you can sell insurance in Mississippi. You must take 20 hours each in Life, Accident and Health, Property, Casualty, and Personal Lines. You must take a final exam to receive a certificate of completion that states you finished your pre-licensing education. Then you can take the state licensing exam. After passing the exam, you can apply for your Mississippi insurance license. You can submit a paper application to the Mississippi Department of Insurance or apply online via Sircon or the National Insurance Producer Registry. The Mississippi Department of Insurance recommends that people apply online.
You must be at least 21 years of age and have a degree from a college of osteopathic medicine or a medical college to get your license. Then complete a year of post-graduate training, submit your fingerprints, and take the necessary exams. The board accepts the FLEX, USMLE, and NBME, along with the combination. If you choose to take a combination of exams, make sure you meet the requirements. Once you pass your exams, you can submit your application to the Mississippi State Board of Medical Licensure.
You’ll be on track for getting a Mississippi nursing license after graduating from a board-approved program. You can graduate from an approved LPN or RN program. Then you need to take the nursing exam. Choose the NCLEX-PN program to become an LPN or the NCLEX-RN program if you want to become a licensed registered nurse. Submit your fingerprints and apply for your license through the Mississippi Board of Nursing.
After you become a registered nurse, you can continue your education to get an APRN license. Graduate with a master’s or doctorate in nursing from a nationally approved school of nursing. Then you must pass the national certification exam that’s based on your area of practice. You also must go through the monitored hours of residency. Then you can apply through the Board of Nursing.
If you are at least 18 years of age and a Mississippi resident, you can work toward your real estate salesperson license. You also have to complete at least 60 hours of pre-licensing education and pass the state licensing exam. You need to find employment under a licensed broker. Then you can submit your application to the Mississippi Real Estate Commission.