In our page you’ll also learn about such things as: validity and expiration date of a driver’s license, appliance fees and important documents. Make sure you have learned everything perfectly, before applying for your Mississippi driver’s license.
Obtaining a Mississippi driver’s license is especially important for those who are first-time drivers in the state. Moreover, if they are non-residents, they have to learn many new things. Let’s start with the requirements:
Firstly, you need to be present in person when applying for your Mississippi driver’s license. You must provide:
To clarify, you won’t get your Mississippi driver’s license unless you pass knowledge and driving tests.
The Mississippi driver’s manual will help you to get ready for the knowledge test. It is stated, that the questions are mainly based on the information the manual contains. Besides, you can take some online tests similar to that one.
Then contact the local license office to know when you can take your test. In some cases, you’ll have to make an appointment beforehand. This test is mostly needed if you are not a Mississippi resident.
The driving test is at most important for all licensees. Drivers should come with their own vehicles and insurance proof. There are specially licensed officials who test the drivers’ skills.
During this test they find out the real abilities of the drivers: How they handle the vehicle, follow road rules, and so on. Only after passing this test you can obtain your Mississippi driver’s license.
In case you fail any of these tests, you’ll have to retake it the following day. So, make sure you have prepared for them very well. Otherwise, you won’t become an owner of both the vehicle and the Mississippi driver’s license.
For non-residents there are some requirements they need to meet. The only exception is the Mississippi driver’s license. They don’t have to provide it. However, your driver’s license will be valid as long as you legally stay in the state.
Your application must include the following valid immigration papers: proof of residency place, foreigner resident card, print of I-94, translated birth certificate and passport.
To get a Class B or Commercial driver’s license you will have to:
Remember, that for taking the written test you don’t have to make an appointment. However, for the skills tests, you’ll have to make an appointment beforehand.
To clarify, you need the Mississippi Class B license to drive trucks and buses. Here is the list of the exams you need to take for getting the license: CDL road test; Air brakes test; Pre-trip test; Endorsements test; Skills tests and the written knowledge test.
Like all the other licenses, the Mississippi driver’s license also expires one day. To avoid it, do the renewal beforehand (6 months before expiration). However, you still have a chance to renew it within a year after it has been expired. To renew it you must visit the local DPS office.
As a resident, you have to present: your current driver’s license; residency proof, and other papers the office will require. In case you are not a resident of the state, you should bring your residency card, immigration paperwork, and your passport.
After the appliance, you should pass the vision test. Then do your payments, according to the renewed type of the license (4-year/8year licenses). There will also be a $1 fine for a late renewal. You can either pay by cash or by card. In one week you’ll get the license via mail.
As there are two types of Mississippi driver’s licenses the costs may vary. The difference is in their durability. To clarify, for a 4-year license you’ll have to pay $20-25. However, for the 8-year license, the fee will be $45-50.
The MS Department of Public Safety doesn’t accept any check payments. So, make sure you pay the fee only by cash or by debit/credit card.
If it happened so, that you have come to this problem, there are many ways to solve it. You can do the replacement:
In case you want to make the process faster, choose the first option. Doing the replacement in person is definitely the fastest way. Here is how to do it:
Here are the Mississippi driver’s license main classes and their endorsements:
The owner of this license can only drive a motorcycle and no other vehicle. Any Mississippi driver’s license holder can receive this endorsement.
Drivers can have any mixture of vehicles with gross weight. The weight of the vehicles should be 26.000 pounds or more.
Similar to the Class A license this is for the vehicles with gross weight. The exception is that the vehicles won’t tow any other vehicle with a 10.000-pound weight.
This is for vehicles that can transport sixteen or more people together with the driver. Also, the vehicles which people can use to transport hazardous materials.
This license is for all the other vehicles which are left. To clarify, these are the vehicles that don’t belong to A, B, and C license classes.