Search and verify licenses
Sample Mississippi Security License

Mississippi Security License

In Mississippi, there are certain requirements to meet if you want to get a Mississippi security license. Firstly, all guards have to undergo a full background check and submit their fingerprints.

Besides, unarmed officers should:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Have a high school diploma
  • Not have any previous convictions (crime and felony)

For those, who consider getting the certificate, the following is obligatory. Future armed officers should:

  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Be a US citizen or a registered resident
  • Have a Mississippi driver license
  • Have a good physical condition
  • Be mentally stable
  • Not have past or present drug dependence
  • Have a weapon permission
  • Show proof of special training

Application Process

To apply for the permit, it is possible to fill in the form online. It is also possible to do it in person at the Firearm Permit Unit. The form includes different questions. The questions usually refer to:

  • mental state
  • addictions
  • criminal story

Those who served in the military forces are asked to provide information about the service. Not to forget about the discharge. Also, there is a separate section on domestic violence. It is subject to notarization.

After successfully filling in the paper, it should be brought to the Department of Public Safety Headquarters.

The fee for that is $132.00. This includes a background screening, which is $32.00. The payment is can be made by Debit card, Master card, or VISA. It is also possible to pay in cash.

Additionally, you will need to present a headshot that was taken in the last 30 days.

Fingerprinting

Fingermark cards are generally prepared by the state’s Highway Patrol of Public Safety. For this purpose, the residents can visit one of the Substations below:

  • Brookhaven
  • Biloxi
  • Batesville
  • Greenwood
  • Meridian
  • New Albany
  • Starkville

In case the investigation reveals any type of felony or crime, the person will get a rejection.

Training

Above all, training is not conducted at a state level. Generally, the hiring agencies organize it. They usually include the following:

  • Legal aspects
  • The main role of the employee
  • Patrol
  • Documentation
  • First aid
  • Working with public

Mississippi Security License renewal

Usually, the permits are valid for 4 years. 90 days before the expiry date, the DPS notifies and attaches the renewal form. You can renew it before the expiration date or after it. However, there is a $15 fine in case of delay (up to 6 months). Still, if the delay is more than 6 months, the person has to apply as a first-time candidate.

The fee is $50. There is only a $32 fingerprinting fee for retired law-enforcement officials.

The replacement is $15 for lost or destroyed certificates. A notarized statement is necessary for this.

Zara N

Zara Nalchajyan is a content writer and a psychologist. She loves both of her professions with passion. The spheres she has chosen seem totally different. Anyway, she has so far succeeded in combining and linking them. Zara works as a family psychologist daytime and in the evenings she immerses in writing. Besides working as a content writer, she has managed to write her own books. She is an author of a psychological book for parents called “Some issues on upbringing”. She also writes therapeutic stories for children. Right now Zara is writing (or trying to write) her first psychological novel.